Fashion and more in Second Life

I like to think

As many are aware, I’ve entered the Miss Colour Of Couture contest and am in fact, a finalist. I cannot hope to express to you what this means to me, but I will try.

To begin, I have the opportunity to be a role model of sorts, a person to look up to, a visible source of encouragement for women of colour of everywhere. This would, in itself, be extremely meaningful and make it worth the attempt but too, this gives me an opportunity to be an agent of change. This is, of course, equally as lovely as an opportunity. Beyond this, it is an opportunity to work with a wonderful organization and as well, to learn so very much all while continuing a career and love in the fashion industry. If it sounds like it’s overwhelming in its meaning, perhaps it is because it is and should be. It’s really a fantastic chance.

I am extremely new to the fashion industry in Second Life and so new, in fact, one might state it was bold of me to even consider trying out for such a contest. Bolder yet, likely, to say what I am about to say.

Beginning a career in fashion has made me truly think and I love to think, I have a great passion for learning and knowledge but also for questioning myself and everything around me. First, I had to ask myself if I truly felt that I had any place even attempting to try for this contest and title. The meaning it holds is very large, to many and I had to consider whether or not I felt I could really live up to it. In that question, came yet others. What is a good role model? What in fact makes a person right to hold such a title?

I believe that a good role model is steady, a person who truly believes in things and carries through on their beliefs and their words, who does what they believe to be right because it is right and for no other reason. I believe a good role model cares about what they do, cares about who they affect and how and is consistently thinking of such matters. Above all, I truly believe that a good role model does not change themselves or back down on their beliefs to win a title, an applause or in fact, anything else. I have encountered very little, if any, cattiness or judgement within the industry thus far and am grateful for it but know in my heart that in such contests, it is possible to face such things and to then, be faced with choices on how one might handle it. I did consider every possibility, every minute one that I could think of, before entering.

I did even look deeply and introspectively at everything I do, believe in and take part in and asked myself, was I ready to be judged and do so knowing my imperfections and knowing that my choices may or may not always be considered mainstream or “appropriate”. I’d like to share my conclusion with you.

I have been told that I am unusual, that I am incredibly honest and that I am, in fact, the wind of change wherever I go. I am a leader and I do not run from this. I am imperfect and I admit to my faults, I am publicly and privately, merely who I am. I am a caring and unique individual with strong beliefs and the passion to carry through on following those beliefs. I care about this, very much and will see it through regardless of the results, I will do so as myself. I will not become someone I am not nor be ashamed of anything I am in doing so, regardless of what others may say or think and I will continue to stand as a wall in the face of predujism, be it against a person’s colour, race,ideals or lifestyle.

At the end of the day, I want and need to look into a mirror and be proud of myself, my actions and my choices…win or lose. That is the crown I want most…self love…pride in myself and the knowledge that I did my best and what was right. If, in doing that, I can and am permitted the great honor of becoming Miss Colour of Couture…then truly, I will be blessed and on another great journey. In the meantime, I shall enjoy this opportunity to learn and to know the other amazing finalists, the chance to grow as a person and a model.

Each thing in life is a series of choices and what those choices are define us as people.

I like thinking.

Lady Stromfield

Leave a Reply

